The Rugby Southland Pathways Programme is a comprehensive initiative aimed at identifying and developing the future talents of rugby in Southland. The programme is designed to provide young players with a clear pathway to the next level of the sport and even professional rugby, both in Southland and beyond. 

Pathways Manager, Scott Eade, works closely with professional teams such as the SBS Bank Southland Stags and the Highlanders Super Rugby Team to provide a well-rounded development experience for the players.

The Rugby Southland Pathways Programme is structured to provide young players with the necessary skills and knowledge to succeed in the sport. Through a combination of coaching, training, and game experience, the programme helps players improve their physical, technical, and tactical abilities. In addition, the programme also places a strong emphasis on character development, ensuring that players are equipped with the values and mindset needed to succeed both on and off the field. The end goal of the Rugby Southland Pathways Programme is to create a pipeline of talented players who can progress to the next level and eventually represent Southland at the professional level.

Interact and learn from our Stags

Our home - Rugby Park Stadium Invercargill

Train in the world class Mike Piper Training Centre 

Meet new team mates and life long friends

RML Rugby Southland Pathway Members 2023

Rugby Southland Male Pre-Academy 2023

Year 1

Josh Lowe – NSC

Thomas Jennings – SBHS

Presley McHugh – SBHS

Luka Salesa – SBHS

Cody Lowe – NSC

Fraser Wilson – SBHS

Josh Cairns – SBHS

Jordan O’Connell – SBHS

Luke Reynolds – Verdon College

Jimmy Taylor – SBHS

Taine Withy – SBHS

Justin Shaw – SBHS

Rugby Southland Male Pre-Academy 2023

Year 2&3

JJ Fisher – SBHS

Kody Crump – Menzies College

Jake Evans – St Peter’s College

Thomas Spain – SBHS

Gregor Rutledge – SBHS

Jayden Broome – Gore HS

Noah Sutton – SBHS

Mika Muliaina – SBHS

Hunter Richards – Menzies College

Preston Evans – SBHS

Jerome Buckley Fa’atoia – SBHS

Crenshaw Conroy – St Peter’s College

Drey Fonoti – SBHS

Rico Muliaina – SBHS

Rugby Southland Future Hinds Development Group 2023

Ruby Earwaker – SGHS

Grace Duthie – NSC

Amelia Everett – Verdon College

Jay Egerton – CSC

Dixie-Leigh Burr – St Peter’s College

Leila Hill – Blue Mountain College

Abby Smith – SGHS

Libby Carran – SGHS

Olivia Gill – CSC

Addison McHaffie – Gore HS

Hannah Norris – Fiordland College

Indy Hillman – SGHS

Charlotte Strachan – CSC

Dakota Wilton – CSC

Academy Year 1

Josh Evans - Woodlands

Rico Fisher - Kaikorai

Caleb Williams - Green Island

Sione Baker - Woodlands

Hunter Fahey - Dunedin

Academy Year 2

Liam McIntosh - Kaikorai

Jack Taylor - Southern

Billy Andrew - Invercargill Blues

Hunter Areaiiti Burgess - Marist

Jackson Bevin - Marist

Kaea Nikora Balloch - Pirates-Old Boys

Jakob Harrex - Pirates-Old Boys

Want to know where Rugby can take you?​​​​​​​

Latest Pathways News